Café Rouge: for ladies that brunch (or at least did it once and like to pretend)

Yesterday was my gorgeous mother’s **th birthday (a lady never tells), and as it was my last day before returning to sunny Birmingham for university, I figured I should do something to make it special.

From a mix of not knowing what to get her as a present – a problem I’ve suffered with for many years; why have a birthday so soon after Christmas?! – and wanting to spend some last-minute quality time with mummy before I went away, I decided I’d treat her to a late breakfast at the wonderful Café Rouge. I’ve always heard great things about this place and am always in favour of ANYTHING French – the food, the wine, the fashion… they’ve really got it all under control.

So after checking out the menu online and deciding it was on, we headed into town yesterday morning for our first ever breakfast out. And it certainly didn’t disappoint. We both ordered the gorgeous Oeufs Royale (poached eggs, smoked salmon and hollandaise sauce-topped toasted muffins – like heaven in my mouth) along with Bucks Fizz and Kir Royale to drink (hey, if you’re treating yourself you should go the whole hog, right?). Being in a French restaurant it seemed foolish not to order a crossaint too – probably my all-time favourite thing about France – but with such a filling meal I only had the room for a coffee afterwards! I suppose it gives me a reason to go back, after all…

Perhaps ‘brunching’ out is a slightly expensive (not to mention fattening!) habit to get into, but in the context of a special occasion it’s probably the best decision I could have made. So thanks Café Rouge, I’ll be seeing you again soon!

Leave a comment